jean quilt inspiration

I’ve settled on the  direction for my next quilt.  The majority of the quilt will be made from large pieces of second hand blue jean in a Gee’s Bend style.  My color choices are inspired by Carrie Strine.  I want the majority of the blanket to feel neutral but I want to introduce small intense pops of color. I want to do some piece work inspired by Lotta Jansdotta.  I like the really thin strips and mix of horizontal and vertical shapes.

This is a sample of my jean collection.  I am thrilled that I was able to find a pair of neon yellow jeans.  I also stumbled upon a pair of jeans made with a Toile pattern.  I think that will add something really special to the quilt.  I haven’t figured out yet what I will do for the backing or how to finish the edges. One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

