sound and silence

Last night I went to a middle school music performance.  There was one performance that stood out for me.  The students made music with paper.  The lights were turned off and a a black light was turned on.  The kids were seated on stage like in an orchestra.  Slowly they raised pieces of  paper over their heads.  Some kids tapped at the hanging paper.  Some kids tore the paper.  On cue some of them crumpled the paper and put it under their shoe and rubbed it against the floor.  I really enjoyed that performance.  It moved me.  It reminded me of  John Cage “4.33”

ta·cet

verb (imperative) Music .

be silent (directing an instrument or voice not to play or sing).

 

One thought on “sound and silence

  1. Sounds interesting…making music with the sounds of silence! I sometimes love to sit in the car with no radio,windows up and listen to the silence! It is like what I equate to being in a a cocoon!

Leave a Reply

