girl walk // all day

I went to the 3S Artspace Epic End of Summer Dance Party.  I wanted to challenge myself to take a decent picture in the dark.  I really admire night photography that captures mood — like this one.  I wasn’t very successful but I did learn some things not to do for next time.

The event was very cool.  I wished my sister was there so we could dance together.  What 3S did was project the AHmazing film Girl Walk // All Day on a big blow-up screen in the alley.  That film is incredible.  I can’t believe I had never seen or heard of it before.  My jaw was dropped for most of it.  I want to investigate the possibility of showing it during the 4th Annual Women’s Clothing Swap next spring.

The projector was on top of a car.  Gotta love that.

Here is a very short clip so you can get a sense of how cool this film is.

During the first screening people generally sat down and watched the film.  After it ended they played it a second time but instead of playing the sound for the film a DJ played a new mix of dance music.

When I got home my husband looked at my photographs with me and gave me pointers for next time.  I’d like to try to shoot the Portsmouth Halloween Parade next.

One thought on “girl walk // all day

Leave a Reply

