handmade playclothes

playclothes from vintage slips

Forgive this collection of bad old photographs.  I just found this image in an old file.  I don’t have the heart to look for the originals.  This was my attempt to make play clothes for my nieces. I bought up old slips and added stretchable straps on top so they could be worn as dresses.  I sewed doilies onto the slip on the bottom right to cover up stains.  I wish I had tried to hand dye that one.  That might have looked fun.  The pale pink one on the top right was a longish slip. I sewed folds into it to give it volume and to make it short enough for a little girl to wear as a playclothes skirt.  I’m in the mood to alter clothing.  Take a look at my upcycle inspo board on Pinterest for more upcycling inspiration.

Leave a Reply

