playing dress up

I dressed up as Frida Kahlo for Halloween. I really enjoyed creating this costume.  It was comfortable and relatively easy to put together.  Not everybody knew who I was supposed to be.  Some people thought I was the Chiquita banana lady.  But others knew immediately and gave me a knowing smile. It was like being “in” on an “inside joke” all day. 

I love Halloween because I love creating a costume.  It’s like a design challenge.  The picture below is from a belated work Christmas party — we celebrated in April.  We all got together at the library after closing and watched The King’s Speech and dined on British-y food.  The fine fellow with me is a former co-worker.  Fun, right?

All this talk of costumes makes me jealous of Cindy Sherman.  She is always playing dress-up.

3 thoughts on “playing dress up

  1. reretro November 1, 2012 / 11:51 am

    you totally nailed the monobrow. and i like the posture and arm positions. very, very nice. also great that you brought modernist art to halloween- it’s about time!

  2. Maureen November 1, 2012 / 12:56 pm

    Fabulous! It was great fun channeling Frida! I feel “playing dress-up” is such fun and historical figures are so interesting!!! Have a super day!!!

  3. karebare November 3, 2012 / 4:58 pm

    You make me want to create things!!!!!

Leave a Reply

