Sustainable Style

whowhatwearHave you noticed the coat-as-cape trend?  The image above is from a post on Who What Wear. It is a great example of sustainable style. You don’t need to purchase anything new. Just wear what you already have with a little more pizazz. I wear my librarian-chic cardigans this way at work sometimes.

two trendsThe image above is from the J. Crew blog. Notice they are both wearing their jackets as capes. There is another little detail that I love from this image. Do you see it?  It appears that the woman with the jean jacket cut off the collar. I love that little alteration. It makes the piece more personal. I have a jean jacket in my closet that I haven’t worn for years. If I cut off the collar and wear it as a cape it could become my go-to piece for the summer.

thesquare_spring2015

If you follow me on other social media channels then you already know that I am now a style contributor for two local publications. I contribute a regular piece about sustainable style shopping to the The Square. Grab a copy when you see one around town. There are a ton of great articles about what is happening on the Seacoast. You can also read it online.

style queueI have also started a regular contribution for The Sound. The format for my Sound piece is inspired by the Talk column in the New York Times. It will feature a head-to-toe portrait of a local stylish person alongside a question-and-answer article. With this monthly series I hope to celebrate individual style, sustainable style, and body positive style. Here is a link to my first contribution.

One thought on “Sustainable Style

  1. helen moore May 16, 2015 / 1:46 pm

    Sima

Leave a Reply

