Sustainable Shopping: New + Old

I did a little shopping this morning before I even got out of bed. Saturday mornings I drink coffee in bed and read blogs and peruse my Pinterest account. I rarely buy new items. My wardrobe is almost entirely secondhand (except for shoes and undergarments), but this morning I was inspired (by the sale price) to buy something special. I bought this Coralscape dress by Nancybird.  I learned about it via Miss Moss. nancybird-ss15-01

dress backIt looks comfortable and chic.  I could wear it to either the Corey Daniels art opening on May 30th or the Patrick Healey Opening Reception on Sunday June 14th, or both. When buying something new I think it is a good sign when I can see myself wearing it in 10 years. With this particular piece, I can see a young woman buying it in 20 years when I bring it to a consignment shop.

I also got this vintage cotton wrap dress from Etsy. It was only $38 bucks.  It’s the perfect thing to throw over my Minnow Bathers swim suit. I’ll wear it with a vintage straw hat and granny sandals. The hat below is by Rachel Comey. The sandals are vintage SAS.

vintage-summer-outfit

What do you wear to art openings and on lazy summer days? xo jam

One thought on “Sustainable Shopping: New + Old

Leave a Reply

