Modern Minimal Vintage

I’m obsessed with a trend I’ve noticed on Instagram that I’m going to call Modern Minimal Vintage or MMV for short (pronounced like envy but with an M sound in the front. Let’s see if that sticks.) Below are some of the instashops I’m following. The best part of this trend is that these pieces are pretty easy to find in your local secondhand stores. You just need to be confident in the styling.

My favorite shop is Iamthat_shop out of Portland, Oregon. I love how she styles her looks. She’s made me aware that when vintage shopping I need to look for simple turtlenecks, sleeveless velvet tops, elastic waist pants, and unusual colors — like salmon.iamthattwosweaters iamthat-salmon-wool-pants i-am-that-tan-pantsi-am-that-pink-shirtiam-that-elastic-waist

Persephone Vintage also has great styling inspiration. She has reminded me to look at two-piece suits, jewel tones, and belted coats.

psvintage-sweater-and-skirt ps-vintage-suitps-dress-and-pants belted-coats

Mirth is great too. Their collection of images reminded me to look for drop earrings, midi-skirts, and chunky heels.

mirth-o-earringsmirth-shoesmirth-midi-skirtmirth-round-earrings

What do you look for when you are shopping secondhand?

Leave a Reply

