JULY 2021 :: Tie Dye

This is the seventh blog post in my 2021 Sewing Plans blog series. Click here to see the video where I share my inspiration for each month. My July project was to dye secondhand clothing.

I go through waves of being obsessed with tie dying. It’s a great way to upcycle clothing, especially if an item has a stain or if it’s just something that could be improved with some color.

The images below are taken from my Dye Job Pinterest board. As you can see, I’m mostly drawn to blues and muted pastels. I love bold colors but I’m less likely to wear them in my daily life.

I purchased a large vintage nightshirt from Tom Cat Bazaar on Etsy. I don’t remember what I paid for it but I remember it was very reasonable. I imagined that if I dyed it — it might make a nice market dress.

I decided to use blue-gray dye and a simple scrunch technique. I like how it turned out! What do you think?

I think if I pair it with leather sandals, an oversized straw bag, and a low bun it would make a nice beach coverup or a comfy dress to wear to the farmer’s market. The cotton is a little stiffer than I would like so I’m going to treat it with salt or vinegar to make it softer. This is what I found with a Google search:

“Create a mix of water and salt, or water and vinegar in a large plastic bucket. For one quart of water, you will need ½ cup of salt or vinegar. The salt and vinegar both help to open up the fibers of the shirts, and the mixture will add volume to the cotton, making it feel fluffy and soft” – findanyanswer.com

What I learned on this project:

Creative work is work. It takes time. It takes space. It can take lots of tools and prep work. It sometimes gives you a bad back. This project was pretty simple but I did avoid it for weeks because of the work involved. I love creative work but it’s good to be reminded that it is work. It can make you feel amazing when things go right but it doesn’t mean that it’s not work like other work. Think of that the next time you buy something from a local maker.

I’m so excited about my August Project — SHOES!!!

ONWARD!
XOXO RECOVERGIRL

Leave a comment