Spring 2015 Style Inspiration

My Spring 2015 Style Inspiration – Head to Toe.

I like my hair long but it’s always getting in my way. It gets caught in my coat zipper or creeps into my mouth. I’d like to try wearing braids in a decorative but also utilitarian way.  I like this style below because it is unusual and if worn in the right way could work for an older woman like myself. Also, I think braids could allow me to skip a day of shampooing. They might look even cuter when they are a little messy.

braided-up-doJane Eyre / Carine ThevenauHolly Hunter in Piano

I’m not big on jewelry. I literally wore the same earrings for like 10 years. I lost the back to one and basically haven’t worn earrings since. I might get a pair of these minimalist earrings by Erica Weiner.  “These hoop earrings have no posts to spike you and no backs to lose, — wear them day in and day out, to bed, and in the shower.” I’ll probably end up wearing these for like the next ten years.  

earringsErica Weiner

I’ll continue to wear white button-down shirts for work. A nicely pressed white button-down always feels right.

J Crew has me thinking that I should add a classic white polo to my wardrobe. It won’t be easy to find one I like. Polo shirts made for women are too body conscious and too short for my taste. I’ll look at secondhand x-tra small men’s polo shirts and/or J Crew polo shirts for boys. Size 16 might fit.

tops-workPlumo / Husband Catalog

It’s easy to find black dress pants at Goodwill and Savers. Ones with pleats might be good. I’ll hem them too short so they will look odd in a good way. I’m starting to think that “odd in a good way” should be my blog tagline. Midi skirts are my favorite. I found a great Eileen Fisher skirt and black wrap dress at Wear House. They will be my staples. I know this looks winter-y but Spring in New England just means you don’t have to wear a coat, mittens and a hat. 🙂

black-work-bottomsLa Garçonne Moderne / Need Supply

On my days off I’ll wear black t-shirts with black jeans or a super soft chambray shirt with vintage blue jeans. Everlane has a great looking black t-shirt. I like their mission too.

day-off-wear-2015Heist / Magic Surrounds

I’d like to add a minimalist style cross body fanny pack to my wardrobe. Something that will hold my phone and wallet and not much else. I absolutely love these Christina Fisher bum bags but at $430 they are way way out of my price range. I will search Etsy and local thrift stores for a fanny pack that might work in a similar way.

cf-bagsChristina Fisher

A word about sweatshirts. Love. Death by Elocution says it best, “Baggy sweatshirts, all day errrday.”

gray sweatshirtvia Death by Elocution

The Utopia sweatshirt by Carleen is beyond. It is a “perfectly-worn vintage heather grey sweatshirt with a hand crocheted panel sewn to the front” You can choose your own word (must be 7 letters or less).

Car-Slow-Fvia Mr. Larkin

I love shoes but I can’t get too creative with them. I work on my feet so I must wear supportive comfortable shoes. These Naot shoes have served me well.

naotNaot on Zappos

For days off I’d like to wear a fun athletic slide. Maybe with a sock to make it look ….say it with me…. “odd in a good way.” This image below is from Ryan Roche’s Instagram account. I love her style. You should follow her.

ryan roche instagramRyan Roche

all for now
xo jam

One thought on “Spring 2015 Style Inspiration

  1. maureen fisk March 5, 2015 / 1:33 pm

    Loved your looks and reasoning for “odd in a good way.”

Leave a comment